Home » Speaker Abbas appoints five ex-governors’ children to chair standing committees in House of Reps

Speaker Abbas appoints five ex-governors’ children to chair standing committees in House of Reps

by Akeem Adeyemi
Tajudeen Abbas 1024x570 1


Five former governors’ children were among the members appointed to chair various standing committees of the House of Representatives.

Rt. Hon. Tajudeen Abbas, the speaker of the 10th Assembly, announced the constitution of 134 standing committees in the green chamber during the plenary session on Thursday.

The composition of the standing committees is in line with the provisions of the constitution and the house standing rules which empower the parliament to through the committees, carry out oversight functions on government agencies and programmes and address specific issues of national importance.

However, IDANNEWS gathers that five children of former governors are among the lawmakers named by the speaker to head the various committees.

Below are the committees the children of the former governor’s head.

Mohammed Bello el-Rufai — Banking regulation committee
Suenu Ibori — Niger Delta Development Commission (NNDC) committee
Adegboyega Adefarati — Labour, employment and Productivity committee
Olamiju Akala — Youth in Parliament committee
Olumide Osoba — Justice Committee.

Hon. Ibori Suenu
Hon. Erhiatake Ibori is a 42-year-old Nigerian politician from Urhobo, Delta State.

She is the daughter of Chief James Ibori, the former Governor of Delta State. Currently, she’s married to Abioye Suenu.

She studied Business Studies and Information Systems in the United Kingdom. Erhiatake is praised for walking in the remarkable footsteps of her Father, James Ibori.

Erhiatake is a member of the People’s Democratic Party (PDP). And also a member of the Ethiope Delta State House of Assembly.

Bello El Rufai
Bello El Rufai was born in 1990, he is the eldest son of Nasir El-Rufai, the former Governor of Kaduna State. He holds a Bachelor’s degree in Political Science, International Relations, and Religious Studies from the prestigious Wheaton College, Massachusetts.

He also holds an MSc in Public Relations and Corporate Communication from Georgetown University.

Bello El Rufai started his career as a manager at Huawei Enterprise, Abuja. He emerged as the winner of the House of Representatives in Kaduna North LGA in the 2023 election, under the All Progressives Congress (APC).

Adegboyega Adefarati
Otunba Adegboyega Adeyemi Adefarati was born on the 19th day of November 1965 in Akungba Akoko in Akoko South-West Local Government Area of Ondo State.

He attended Obafemi Awolowo University, Ile-Ife for his Bachelor’s degree in History and Lagos State University (LASU) for his Master’s degree in Business Administration.

Adegboyega is the son of the late former governor of Ondo State, Adebayo Adefarati. Adefarati was governor from 1999 to 2003

Olumide Babatunde
Hon. Olumide Babatunde Osoba is a politician, educator, and entrepreneur

He attended the University of Lagos where he graduated in June 1999 with a degree in Accounting and Finance.

Olumide is the son of Segun Osoba, former governor of Ogun, who ruled between 1992 and 2003.

He is representing Abeokuta North/ Obafemi- Owode/Odeda for the second term in the House of Representatives. He served as the Chairman of, House of Representatives Committee on Sports in the 9th Assembly.

Olamijuwonlo Alao-Akala Former Executive Chairman – Ogbomoso North.

He holds Bachelor’s degree in Computer and Information Sciences, General, and a Master’s Degree in Service Management in
University of Buckingham

Olamiju is the son of the late Alao Akala, a former governor of Oyo.

You may also like

Update Required Flash plugin